Aya Kamaya, MD, FSRU

Stanford University
Stanford, CA


Aya Kamaya, MD, FSRU, FSAR is Professor of Radiology at Stanford University, Director of Ultrasound, and Division Chief of Body Imaging. She has authored 4 major textbooks on the topic of ultrasound, is NIH grant funded, and is active in clinical research in a variety of ultrasound, liver, gynecologic, and other abdominal imaging topics as well as translational ultrasound related research with active collaborations with basic scientists at Stanford. 

In 2021, Dr Kamaya led the SRU Consensus Committee on the topic of Incidental Gallbladder Polyps. Dr Kamaya is co-chair of the ACR Ultrasound LI-RADS working group and member of the ACR LI-RADS steering committee. Prior to serving on the Board of the SRU, she was the Chair of the SRU Social Media Committee where she started the “What is your sound diagnosis?” weekly case presentation on Facebook and Twitter. She also started the “Gettable Case of the Week” for the Society of Abdominal Radiology and was the sole content creator for both societies for over 2 years. She is the lead author of the Ultrasound section of RADPrimer, a popular online educational learning tool utilized by all radiology residents and fellows in the United States and Canada. She has received 2 Teacher of the Year awards at Stanford and has received the Honored Educator Award from the RSNA. She is a frequent lecturer at the SRU, SAR, RSNA, and ARRS as well as several CME courses.



Mary Frates, MD, FSRU

Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA


Mary C Frates, MD, FSRU is Division Chief of Ultrasound, Co-director of High Risk Obstetric Ultrasound, and Vice Chair for Academic Advancement in the Department of Radiology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School, both in Boston, MA. She graduated from the Warren Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University and completed her residency at Tufts and her Body Imaging fellowship at Brigham and Women’s hospital. She is a subspecialist with a full-time practice in Ultrasound with particular interest in the imaging of high risk obstetrics, ectopic pregnancy, thyroid disease and abdominal vascular studies.




Nirvikar Dahiya, MD, FSRU

Mayo Clinic
Phoenix, AZ


Nirvikar (Nirvi) Dahiya, MD, FSRU, FAIUM is a Professor of Radiology at Mayo Clinic Arizona, Chair of Ultrasound Division. Prior to joining Mayo Clinic in 2013, Dr. Dahiya was an Assistant Professor of Radiology at Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology (MIR), St. Louis, MO where he was also the Director of Ultrasound. He is currently the Chair of the ACR Committee on Practice Parameters – Ultrasound. He is an active member of the Economics Committee - Ultrasound, Parameters and Standards Committee, and Ultrasound Accreditation Committee of the ACR. In collaboration with LI-RADS Steering Committee of ACR, Dr. Dahiya is part of the Ultrasound LI-RADS workgroup. Dr. Dahiya has consistently maintained volunteer roles at the American Board of Radiology, initially as the exam writer for the certifying exam and currently as the Chair of the Online Longitudinal Assessment (OLA) Ultrasound Committee as Part of the ABR's Maintenance of Certification (MOC) process. Prior to serving on the Board of the SRU, he was the Chair of the SRU Program Committee. He has received 2 Teacher of the Year awards at Mayo Clinic and has also received the Honored Educator Award from the RSNA. He is a frequent lecturer at the SRU, RSNA, AIUM and ARRS as well as multiple international CME courses. In his subspeciality ultrasound practice, he has focused on musculoskeletal ultrasound, contrast enhanced ultrasound and vascular imaging.



Mark E. Lockhart, MD, MPH

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL


Mark Lockhart, MD, MPH, FSRU graduated from the University of Mississippi with a B.A. in Chemistry in 1991, moved to Emory University for medical school, then completed his diagnostic radiology residency and abdominal imaging fellowship at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.  He obtained a MPH in outcomes research to improve his research skills in 2002. As a member of the abdominal imaging faculty, he developed research interests in ultrasound and MRI.  He has served in many different roles within the department of radiology, including chief of the abdominal imaging section from 2012-2021, current chief of GU Imaging, and current chair of the departmental promotions committee.  Within the University of Alabama at Birmingham, Dr. Lockhart has been an active member of the UAB faculty senate, and served as Chair of the Faculty in 2009-2010.  Nationally, he has been a proctor of the national radiology boards, a member of the ABR ultrasound certifying committee, member of the ACR Commission on Ultrasound, and currently serves as Chair of the ACR Appropriateness Committee.  In his clinical service and research, he has focused on vascular ultrasound, contrast-enhanced ultrasound, genitourinary and pelvic imaging.



Past President

Mindy M. Horrow, MD, FSRU

Albert Einstein Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA


Mindy M. Horrow MD, FACR, FSRU, FAIUM is the Vice Chair of Radiology at Einstein-Jefferson Healthcare Network and a Professor of Radiology at the Sidney Kimmel Medical School of Thomas Jefferson University.  In addition to serving on the SRU executive board, she has been a member of the program, professional practice, and education committees and a frequent lecturer at the annual meeting. She is the Ultrasound Panel Chair for Radiographics and often lectures at the RSNA.  Mindy was an ABR oral board examiner for many years, a chair of the Ultrasound Core Committee and has served on several ACR panels including the O-RADS ultrasound committee.  She has received teaching awards from Einstein, the Philadelphia Roentgen Ray Society, the Dean’s Award from Jefferson and 2 RSNA honored educator awards.